Birthday Chairs!

This weekend my brother asked if we could go thrifting, and I agreed, although I didn’t have anything in particular in mind to buy. Until I saw these four gorgeous chairs.

1I had been tossing around the idea of getting nicer chairs for the front room of our apartment for a while. The apartment comes furnished with chairs but they’re metal and blue plastic ones reminiscent of the chairs I used in high school. Functional but not particularly stylish. I bounced back and forth between “but pretty chairs” and “but we would still have to keep the ones the apartment comes with somewhere”. That is, until I saw these beauties and decided the provided chairs could live in our closet.

 

2These chairs are a perfect base for a chair makeover. They’re solidly built, even if the wood is a little dinged in a few places and the cushions are just ready to be reupholstered. So when I asked the manager how much the chairs were (they hadn’t been priced yet), and he gave them the once over and said I could have all four for $40 if I bought them right now, I was sold. $40 is no spare change, but my birthday is this month (yay me!) so I decided I’d splurge a little bit to not only get four awesome chairs, but to give myself the chance to do some larger scale DIY.

3

My first instinct was to paint them white and cover the cushions in a bright fun fabric, Like these I found over on a site called Funkytime:

before-and-afterOooooooh, Aaaaaaah.

But because the chairs will be going in the front room, which already has a lot of colorful pieces, I think I’m going to keep them a little more subtle for now. Likely I’ll refinish and stain the wood a little darker, and then choose a fun but subtle fabric for the cushions.

Here’s a quick photoshop edit to show you what I mean:

1editI probably wouldn’t do chevron cushions, but you get the idea; darker wood, fun pillow. Unless, does anyone have any better ideas? Anyone else ever redone a chair before?

This entry was posted in Home Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

