Painting the Chairs pt. 1

Remember those chairs I found on the street? I finally started working on them!

I scrubbed the gross hair/ sawdust off the top, but that wasn’t exciting enough to merit a post on its own. It was just water, paper towels and elbow grease but it all came off. There were still a lot of rough spots left where the wood was scuffed up.

1So I took a sanding block to it. I couldn’t tell you what kind of sandpaper it is, just something I found in my dad’s toolkit. My brother guessed it was probably a fine grit when he looked at the chairs later.

I gently ran it over the rough edges of the chair until it felt smooth to me.2

And then on to the fun part – painting! The paint I used was a glossy rust-oleum in “Seaside”. 3Half way done! I only painted one chair because that way if I didn’t like the color, I would only have to repaint one chair. I loved the color in the end, but I ran out of paint after one chair, so it was just as well I didn’t try to do both.

4And here is the chair as it is now. It doesn’t show in the photo but the seat is still pretty rough. I bought another can of paint and I’m going to sand it properly before repainting it.5I think I’m going to paint the other chair in a bright pink (think watermelon), and then find cushion fabric. I’m also looking into options to make the chairs semi-weather proof, in which case I could bring them with me to our apartment and put them out on the back porch!

Has anyone else started any fun projects lately? Anyone know anything about waterproofing furniture?

This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

