Nothing a Fresh Coat of Paint Can’t Fix

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it before on here, but my parents are in the process of building a new house and selling our current one.

Can you guess what my project this week was?

1

What if we zoom in closer?

2

Yep, painting molding. When my family moved back into our house a couple years ago after being abroad for a while, we decided to pull up the carpeting on the stairs. And then promptly did nothing about the resulting look until now.

Once you notice it, it looks messy, but to be honest I didn’t notice until a few months ago. That’s how not super obvious it was. And probably is why we didn’t deal with it until now. Of course, once I saw it, there was no unseeing it, and I’ve been begging my parents to let me touch up the paint since I got home this summer.

This weekend they finally got the paint for it!

3That looks much better.

With my love of painting, I thought I would end up knocking all the molding out in one day (it’s on the stairs going up to the first floor and on the stairs down to the basement). And I would have gotten away with it too, if it weren’t for the rough surface left behind and bits of carpet fluff still stuck to remnants of glue. So instead of doing something I love (painting!!), I had to spend a good while doing something I hate first (sanding). The results were worth the several hours spent sanding and listening to musical soundtracks (don’t cry for me Argentinaaaaa), even if they didn’t improve my enjoyment of sandpaper.

4I still have one section of molding left on the stairs leading to the basement, but otherwise it’s looking good.

5Ignore my water bottle chilling on the top of the stairs.

Even though admittedly, from far away it’s pretty hard to tell. This after picture looks kind of exactly like the before picture.

Anyone else fixing up their house? Or hate sanding as much as I do?

This entry was posted in Home Improvement and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

