One Step Forward, Two Steps Back

Last week, hoping to finally finish my birthday chairs, I headed to a local shop called Haute Fabrics that sells upholstery and curtain fabric.

They have so. many. options.

1

There are multiple rows and they all look like this. It’s a fabric paradise.

After poking around, I narrowed it down to a few options and got clippings so I could see how the fabrics looked with the paint job I gave the chairs.

2

Going in, I was 95% certain that I was going to use the yellow and white scrap of fabric to the far left. I love yellow and teal together as a combo and I thought that it would tie the chairs to the yellow sofa we have in our front room. Buuuuuut, then I got home and saw how they all looked with the chairs and changed my mind completely.

I had only gotten a snip of the teal and white fabric on a whim, but what a great whim it was! Today I went back and bought a yard and a half. The plan was to buy the fabric, and get the seats upholstered and done.

3

My dad got out his staple gun, and we were set to go. The underside of the chair seats proved that they had been reupholstered (multiple times). I decided I would leave the white fabric on because that way I wouldn’t have to worry about a possible bright color fabric showing through my fabric.

But, the white fabric hadn’t been stapled on very well. I wanted to pull it tighter and re-staple it so I could trim away all the excess fabric.

4

I pulled it out the old one and held the fabric tight while my dad stapled. And then the staple gun jammed. Wah wah.

5

The single staple.

Not wanting to waste my desire to do something at least vaguely diy, I got out the front of a cabinet that my mum rescued from our neighbor’s trash for me.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it for a long time, but this weekend I realized I could string wire across the open back and pin up pictures to the wire for a changeable art display.

6

Sadly, I didn’t have the materials to do anything but finally clean all the dirt off it.

Can you believe they were just throwing this away??7

I was silently supported by our Xi’an Warrior.

8My dad is ordering a new staple gun (he does enough handy work that he wants to have a working one), but that puts a stop to my chairs for the time being. It’s a little frustrating to have my plans disrupted, but that’s part of diy-ing.

Anyone finish any projects lately? Or hit a stumbling block like me?

 

 

This entry was posted in DIY, Home Improvement and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

