Something Sweet

And in a break from our irregularly scheduled DIY home posts, here’s a baking one.

This summer I’ve been trying to learn to bake a little better. I could not tell you why, but something about being able to bake well has always been something I really wanted to do. I’ve mastered the apple pie, dabbled in a few types of pastries, but have always held off from what I viewed as a pinnacle of a true baker: the decorated cookie. You know, those adorable cookies that are almost too perfect to eat?

Like these from sugarbelle:

I stared on in envy.

BUT NO LONGER.1

Yeah, okay, mine aren’t nearly as pretty, but they’re a start!

With only two weeks left before I head back to school I decided to finally give this a shot. I was determined to do it the right way, so I invested in a stock of some cookie decorating supplies. Total everything came in at less than $25 and I knew I’d probably end up liking it enough to want to try it again.2First I made the dough. Using a mix. Because I am that kind of person. Then I used one of my shiny new circle cookie cutters.

3I chilled them for a few minutes before baking (because apparently that’s the thing to do), and then baked them. I guess I should have left them in the fridge longer because they still flattened out a lot. Luckily with circles it wasn’t as obvious.

Then I mixed up icing loosely following the guide found here. I altered the recipe a bit as I didn’t have corn syrup. I used 1 cup of confectioner’s sugar, a tablespoon of milk and added a drop of almond extract. Mixed all together, I put it in a bag and edged the cookies.4Looking pretty good!

Which, of course, meant that the next step would not be easy. I had to create the “flood” icing and I added waaay too much milk. It ended up too runny and thin. Ultimately I made a new batch of icing and scraped the old icing off, but below you can see the old icing versus the new.

5See, it’s almost see-through.

Then I played around with some blue icing. The cookies from this first test run are by no means perfect. Especially after comparing them to more professional ones, I can tell I made some amateur mistakes. That said, I had a lot of fun and am definitely going to try again soon.

6May not perfect, but they still taste good!

Anyone else try anything new recently? How did it go?

This entry was posted in Cooking, DIY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

