DIY Anna from Frozen

(Remember when I said that to keep this blog going it might not always be home diy-ing, here’s a costume diy!)

Sometimes this little voice appears in my head and tells me to do something that would be ridiculous, but also pretty awesome. Usually I tell this voice no, I don’t want to drop out of school to join a circus, or no, I don’t think that adopting all the cats in the world is a good plan.

But then sometimes I do listen to it. Like this Thursday when out of the blue, I suddenly decided I really ought to be Anna from Frozen this Sunday. To put this in context, this Sunday my university was running a Halloween fair for children in our community and I was volunteering with a club I’m a part of. I knew that I already had a great costume that my mum was making me for Halloween, but my brain would not let go of the idea of being Anna.

AnnaFrozenDisneySo I did what any reasonable person would do and went shopping. The vest part was simple enough. I found one at Goodwill for $3. Then I ran over to Jo-Anns to buy fabric for the skirt and embroidery floss. I decided I wasn’t going for perfect or accurate, just for something recognizable as Anna. The good news is that as far as costumes go, it was actually pretty easy to make.

1010128_10205022398897964_5526800362286501612_n The skirt was just a circle skirt. I cut four panels and connected them to a waistband. I decided not to do the floral designs along the bottom because this was just going to be a simple recreation (and because there was lots of homework I should have been doing instead of sewing an Anna costume).

For the vest I stitched the bottom of the neckline to create a sweetheart neckline, and then stitched along the bottom to make it a little pointy. The embroidery wasn’t hard, but it was time consuming. If I were to do this again, I’d probably try a chain-stitch instead. Or opt out of embroidering entirely, and cut the design out of a non-fray fabric and sew it on. The easiest (although I’m not as big a fan of the versions I saw that did this) would be to use fabric paint. After all the embroidery, I stitched gold ribbon around the bottom hem and arms. The shirt was just a chambray shirt I had that I tucked in the collar of.

Hair was easy for me, as my hair is already red-blond and I have bangs. So I just braided my hair and was good to go.

smileyPrivacy smiley!

While I was making the costume I felt a little silly. After all, I already had a wonderful costume for Halloween and I wasn’t doing a great job on this one. But I’m really glad I did decide to make it. So many kids were thrilled to meet “Anna” at the festival today. I got tons of hugs (and lots of kids playing with my braids. I do not know why, but they were obsessed). There were so many little Elsas running around! There was even a little Olaf! A few of the kids I talked to kept coming back to see “Anna” again. It was adorable, and I had so much fun!

I’ve always loved working with kids, but today made me a lot more confident in my plans to audition to work for Disneyworld after I graduate. I still want to make an actual Anna costume at some point, one that’s more accurate, but this worked perfectly for today.

This entry was posted in Costumes, DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

